2004-05-01 & 2:57 p.m.
Because my own words fail

I Am There

by Iris Hesselden

Look for me when the tide is high

And the gulls are wheeling overhead

When the autumn wind sweeps the cloudy sky

And one by one the leaves are shed.

Look for me when the trees are bare

And the stars are bright in the frosty sky

When the morning mist hangs on the air

And shorter darker days pass by.

I am there, where the river flows

And salmon leap to a silver moon

Where the insects hum and the tall grass grows

And sunlight warms the afternoon.

I am there in the busy street

I take your hand in the city square

In the market place where the people meet

In your quiet room � I am there.

I am the love you cannot see

And all I ask is � look for me.

For my grandmother

December 12, 1910 - April 27, 2004

back & forth